h1

Flight preparations

November 5, 2012

Terry writes:

Mike’s Ablation Valley group left after lunch, the first Rothera-based field deployment of the season. I was informed by field operations manager (FOM) Andy Barker that we are scheduled to fly tomorrow morning to attempt Scar Inlet, Flask Glacier, and maybe Leppard Glacier. I continued charging batteries and repacking equipment. Set up Iridium dial-out setup on Old Bransfield porch. I dialed in and connected to the cGPS unit on Leppard Glacier. I also called the cGPS on Flask, which answered the call but did not connect. I will need to swap out the electronics at Flask.

After discussions with Tamsin and Malcy, I decided against bringing solar panel leg extensions to Flask, and just raise entire station if necessary.

